Planning on making my first stick. xbox 360

Hi guys,

I’ve been wanting to make a stick since before SFIV came out and the madcatz sticks were all sold out. Then i was looking at people modding those with better buttons and stuff, which just made me want to build one myself instead of buy one. It’s a lot more fun that way and it’s nice to discover a community of people so passionate about it. I have a degree in electrical engineering technology from Purdue, so the soldering and technical know-how should be very doable for me. I do have a few questions and this place seems like a good forum to be apart of.

1.) In my searching I’ve come across a lot of people who make a custom 360 arcade stick from an existing controller, but I never see the buttons for the LT and RT. I assume because they’re analog they are more complicated to turn into a digital button. Am I correct that if i mod an existing 360 controller i will not be able to map the triggers to buttons?..

2.) a.) I do have the madcatz SFIV fightpad, which has RT and LT as digital buttons. Have people successfully made a stick from one of these controllers and mapped the triggers?
b.) Is the D-Pad on the fightpad functionally the same type as the regular Microsoft controllers d-pad? The reason i ask is because of the switch on the fightpad that lets you switch between d-pad, right analog, and left analog makes me wonder if it’s different. Basically, I’m wondering if this d-pad in specific will be a problem to connect to an arcade stick.

3.) Where is everyone getting these sweet arcade stick “cases” or whatever you call them? Not only the cases but these cool “mounting plates” (am i right on those terms?). I’m not too good at woodworking, especially when I’m living in an apartment right now. I see some people clearly made custom ones from scratch, but some others look like they were purchased, which would be ideal for me if available. Any suggestions on what i should put this in would be great.