Playing against vets Vs. playing against newbs

Being a newb I tried playing ST on GGPO to help me devlop an idea for footsies and help me develop my footsies. GGPO is filled with vets who have been playing ST sine it’s release in '94. I don’t really feel like I’m learning anything new or progressing at all.

When I play SSF4 against people who have the same awareness/skill level as me, I feel like I’m learning a lot more when I play against people at my skill level. Of course there is the occasional pro I run into, which makes me feel like I’m playing GGPO.

Is it me? or does playing against people wayyy beyond your current league do less for you than playing aginst people a little above your league?

Definitely. I mean if you only play people way better than you, you never really have a chance to practice any other skills than blocking (which is one of the most important, but anyways). You can’t be expected to learn anything from someone using advanced mind games when you don’t fully understand what is happening to you.

That’s why I think it is better to practice with people around your same skill level. It would be even better if you could play people slightly better than you, adapt, all while learning and leveling up in the process. Better yet would be to have someone a lot better than you to teach/coach you, but that’s usually not possible, unfortunately.

That being said, if you want to develop your footsies I say just stick to whatever SF4 game you have online. Play ranked same skill or if your lucky you can find a good sparring partner in endless and really get some practice in. Of course online isn’t ideal (lag) but there are so many different types of players out there you can really learn a lot if you are trying to. Don’t get worried about your win percentage and just focus on learning and playing the best possible game you are capable of. And use the replay channel to watch your matches back!