"Playing" Street Fighter

Ok, I started playing fighting games competitively with Street Fighter 4, and I main El Fuerte. People have repeatedly told me this character, among others, isn’t playing Street Fighter. The reason being is that this character turns things into a guessing game. While this is true, I fail to see how having strong mixups isn’t “playing” Street Fighter, or perhaps any other fighting game. Sure, a vortex like this or with Viper’s, etc. probably has never been seen in a Street Fighter game, but can someone explain to me what is wrong with this kind of design existing in this series.

But this isn’t just on this character though. Why should any character have to abide to the designs of previously established characters/playstyles? You can only reinvent the wheel so many times.

Or for that matter, is the whole “not playing Street Fighter” argument absolute BS?

Hatin' from experience, the LouisianA Thread Live by our rep

Whoever told you that…are probably scrubs.

It’s BS. While insane mixups are much newer to the series, turtling as Guile isn’t and while I’m not sure someone has out-right told me “it’s not street fighter” I do get a lot of variations of “it makes you play very differently than the norm in street fighter.” Which is true, but it’s also a part of street fighter, just like el fuerte’s mixups. To be sure, fighting el fuerte or guile is frequently the most frustrating, annoying thing ever (I can speak from experience; guile has an especially hard time because he can rarely charge flash kick for fear of fast overhead), but it’s still in the game and is probably going to be a part of street fighter for years to come.