Playing to win vs Playing to improve - My 1 week observation

The start of my journey came from a random link to a live stream, that live stream was Evo 2011. Within the first 15 min of watching people compete, I was hooked. I’ve had a long history of gaming on the pc stemming all the way back to 97 when I started playing quake1. Even though I would call myself a seasoned gamer that thrived off competition, I was never interested in the fighting scene. Well that all changed and within a few days of evo 2011 ending, I had a copy of SSF4AE PC and a Hori Real Arcade PRO V3 SA sitting in my room.

I won’t pretend like I was impressed by what I saw when watching the live stream, I figured how hard could this really be? Well my impressions of the “pro” scene changed real fast. My first initial mistake was trying to act like a sponge and pickup on the more advanced techniques such as fadc or flashy combos before I had a firm grasp on the basics. My second mistake was trying to win, this might sound silly but it’s the truth. Like I stated earlier, I didn’t and still don’t have a firm grasp of the basics so when I would fight it would consist of careless and punishable moves over and over again. I could win a match 50% of the time like this vs players like myself but at what expense? Why would I want to win like a scrub when I could lose like a player trying to learn the correct way. When I played to win, 80% of my attacks involved jumping, I was like a bunny hoping all over the screen. The way I play now is completely different, I try to limit myself to no jumping at all. I realize that not all jumping is bad but I feel like if I revert back to even jumping a little, I will eventually abuse it.