Please Help a Total Noob (Custom Stick)

Hello, people who know what they’re doing!

I recently bought Street Fighter IV (my first SF game :bgrin:), but the standard Xbox 360 controller isn’t doing it for me. I’m interested in building my own fight stick, so I’ve come to you all for help, as my knowledge is rather lacking.

My plan of action is to take a PCB from a wired Xbox 360 controller and solder to it (based on this picture). This will be done in a big tupperware container (inspired by one I saw online) for monetary purposes.

As for parts, I’m not exactly picky, though I want a ball top stick. Looking through Lizard Lick, I thought that I’d get a Sanwa JLW-TM-8 Ball Handle and some inexpensive Happ buttons.

Now, my questions, as I am a total noob.
1 Any issues with this setup?
2 Besides wires and my soldering equipment, is there anything else I need? My wiring plan is based off of this shoebox fight stick, and I see that there are little things on the end of each button. What are those, do they come with the buttons, etc.? Is there any difference between the prongs coming off of the buttons? Isn’t there also something about a spring for the joystick? Finally, any other parts I need?

Yes, I’m a noob who really needs help :xeye:.

Other than looking totally ghetto (and awesome) what you detailed should work.

I know that tupperware pic looked pretty funny, but I would say look into a way to strengthen up that lid. I don’t know how strong that is going to be once it has holes cut into it.

Oh, and the connectors on the buttons don’t matter. Just put a signal on one and ground on the other.

sounds like you’ve done your research and didn’t even need to make this thread lol

pcb, soldered, buttons, box, wire it all up.

if you gonna get a sanwa stick, might as well get some sanwa buttons to go with it.

you only “need” 6 fighting buttons, and a start/guide button and you can add a “back/select” button if you so choose.