Plinking + negative edge? Need some help

I’m trying to perform a combo with Sakura that requires a 1f link that I’m having difficulty with. The combo is as follows:

S.Hp - L. Tatsu - C.hp - Ex Tatsu

The problem is the time between the S.Hp and the L.Tatsu. Without plinking it doesn’t combo at all so what I’ve been inputting is:

Plinking FP+LK then using negative edge to input QCB and letting off LK button… is this correct? is that the proper way to link this combo? I’m a complete noob scrub please help me.

Well, generally you want to plink whatever input you are linking “into” not out of. In the particular combo you mentioned it’s usually the L.Tatsu -> C.hp that screws people up and requires plinking. For S.hp -> L. Tatsu, my guess on your problem is you didn’t input qcb fast enough since you can’t start from the down direction. Forget about the negative edge and plinking for a moment (as they aren’t really needed to do S.hp -> L.tatsu). Try this:

Start with joystick in the forward direction and S.hp, do semi circle back (not qcb) quickly then press lk.

See if it makes your life easier.

Also, S.hp pushes your opponent away a bit which sometimes makes C.hp whiffs. Make sure your are at the right distance first. If you aren’t sure do a deep jump in hp first to make things easier.

Ok I’m confused, whats the proper inputs for this combo? s.HP into lk tatsu without linking seems impossible. If I hit f+fp then qcb+lk the delay is forever to link it. The only way I get it sometimes is by pressing both fp and lk almost at the same time.

Wait wait wait… you’re having problems with s.HP into tatsu, but NOT having problems with tatsu into cr.HP? o_O I assume that you’re not able to do tatsu > cr.HP easily, since you say you are a complete noob, and THAT’S the part that’s a 1-frame link.

This might be a little long, but I think there are some conceptual things you’re mixed up on. I’ll try to clear them up.