Programmer's Thread: I Hate Segmentation Faults

I’m a 3rd year in college majoring in Comp. Science aiming to get into the web development field. Any beginner or expert programmers here? software developers or any hobbyists?

SIGSEGV is a friend that only shows up when you’ve done something bad.

you do have a point. But like everyone else, I prefer to see it once in a blue moon.

I’m a programmer (well, my official title is “software engineer”). Hardly ever see segfaults in web development, though. They’re much more common in more low-level stuff like device driver development.

im a programmer. Still in college for CS, but ive had some jobs and internships with the field. Ive actually written software for social security and nonprofit organizations. I enjoy c++ and java the most, but I have the most experience with visual basic because around here everyone uses it.

I hope to one day make my own 2d fighter :slight_smile:

As far as web development goes, im good as long as I dont have to design the websites layout. Not that I find that hard,but dealing with html and the front end stuff is just annoying for me. I find sloppy programming logic to be much easier to understand than trying to figure out why a god damn table wont goto the right of something even when i align it lol.

I did computer science for a couple years and dropped it. I didn’t want to be sitting in front of a computer all day at work. Now that I have a job that I enjoy as a technician, I am thinking about picking classes back up, because I did enjoy it…plus it is such a useful skill to have…After those two classes, I have been screwing around with a bunch of code, and being able to read it. One of those tools for the future you’ll be very happy to have under your belt.

Right now I am learning the picaxe microcontroller and basic to program a circuit that will allow my PS3 to take coins like an arcade.

Kind of like the Krampus?