Project Phoenix Needs Your Help

Hey Forum,

I’ve decided to undertake a project that I have dreamt about for a while.

I want to turn this:

Into this:

I am a noobie to both tech and custom sticks. I have recruited an engineering student who has done some modding to assist me in this endeavor. But I would love to get all of your input and advice throughout the process. I have spent a few hours looking at some of the threads and custom sticks you guys have posted, and I’m super impressed. I promise to post pics and updates as I progress. I dubbed this little endeavor “Project Phoenix” for fun because like a rising phoenix I can return this xbox 360 that has been sitting in my closet into something useful.

Where I stand so far:

Of the little that I know this is what I’m thinking.

• I want to use Japanese parts, I’ve been using a Mad Catz TE stick, so I would like to emulate that feel/operation. I understand that the TE uses Sanwa parts, so I’m OK with using that.

• I would prefer to use an orange/black/green color scheme to match with the existing colors of the console. I definitely want to use (at least some) translucent orange buttons that I can illuminate with LEDs, and a clear orange bubble top on top of the joystick.

• I want to stick with square gate since that is want I’m used to.

I’m at a really early stage here, but I want to start shopping and ordering pieces in about a month or so, once I’ve gathered enough research and capital to get started.

What resources should I be looking at, and reading up on?
Where do you guys buy your parts?
What controller should I be buying to pad hack (hopefully I didn’t screw that up)? What are the pros/cons or challenges of a wired vs. wireless build?

Go wired you can use a madcatz PCB because padhacking stock controllers is a pain in the ass.
Lizard lick for parts
There is a thread about buttons that light up on activation

Just use the forum search for anything you need, there are hundreds of worklogs here