Question about complexity of 3 different fighting games

Before I start, let me explain my FG background. I started playing SF2 when I was in elementary school on the Sega Genesis as well as Mortal Kombat. At the time, SF2 was my favorite game ever because I loved the combo system in comparison to the mechanics of MK. After SF2 and probably MK3, I haven’t played any fighting games. I recently got back into them after playing SF4 at a friend’s house. I’m currently interested in 3 different fighters although I haven’t played any of the older releases of 2 of them:

1. MK9
  2. Soul Calibur V
  3. UMvC

Since I’m really a newbie (after abandoning fighters for so long and playing 3rd person shooters and role playing games), which of these 3 fighters would I probably find the least complicated to begin with? Could you order them from least complex to most complex?

It depends of how good you want to get

IMO

1. SCV
  2. MK9
  3. MVC3

But thats just jumping into the game at beginner level, once you want to get better all 3 are going to have different skills that you need to learn. Meter works differently in all 3, one is 3D, one has a superjump screen. Unless you just want to mash buttons all three are going to take some work to level up in so you might as well pick the one you like playing the most since it will be the one you are the most likely to put time into.

Thanks for the reply. If you added SFxTekken where would you place it on the list? Also, do you think they’ll be re-releasing it with all the DLC characters?

Hi Legion Quest,

I’m in the same boat as you, I’m just starting to play Fight Games seriously. (After casually enjoying them for many years).

The Ps1 game “Pocket Fighter” may be a good ‘trainer’ for you. . A lot of the competitor-level guys will probably have a laugh about Pocket Fighter, but; it’s helping me “get a feel” for fighting games. It’s finally clicking “when he does this, I do that”. . . This game is only 6 dollars on PSN.