Question about JAMMA and CPS

Hi,
I’m really new to this whole arcade thing, but I was interested in knowing about JAMMA boards in arcade machines.

Sorry if this is a repeat question, but I didn’t find a search function on the forum and I didn’t see anything like this.

I know arcades use JAMMA as the standard, and if you want fighting games, then you have to use JAMMA with the kick pins added.

What I’m wondering is, is the JAMMA basically like a system, and the different cards like, CPS, CPS2, CPS3 and all the other boards, do they fit into it like ROMS?

I’m planning on buying an old arcade system that uses JAMMA and I want to know if I’d be able to install old and new games like SF2 and SF3TS.

Any info would be great.

Thanks,
Justin

Oh yeah, also does anyone know where I can get a control panel board for those Japanese Sega cabinets? Preferably the New Astro City?
I’ve looked at all different arcade sites and I can’t find a single place that sells them.

Thanks

JAMMA is just a common way of wiring up the boards inputs and outputs, it doesn’t do any processing or anything like that, so no, it’s not a system; though like plugging a cartridge into a console, you just plug the board into the JAMMA harness. Most JAMMA games nowadays don’t plug into the JAMMA harness directly, but into arcade hardware (effectively a “console”, e.g. CPS2, Neo Geo MVS) which can be used to play many games. So to play, for example, SFA3, you need the CPS2 hardware as well as the game cartridge itself…often these are sold together.

edit: removed my dumbass comments about 3S running on NAOMI. No idea what I was thinking :confused:

so if i were to buy an arcade machine, i just need, a jamma, the cps board, and the game (which usually comes with the cps)

correct?

thanks,
justin