Question to all Bison Players

m-bison

What’s up Dictators,

I’ll give you guys a short run down before I ask my question:

I started playing Street Fighter about 5 months ago and I’ve spent an abundant amount of time watching streams, following the scene, reading guides, etc. I started with Ryu to learn the basics of the game. After I finally hit my goal of 1000 PP on Ranked Online (With Ryu ofcourse) I decided I wanted to pick a character to main that isn’t Ryu. I used Ryu as sort of like a training wheels for my fighting game experience and I want to move to a more complex character. I chose M.Bison of course, because he caught my eye and looks extremely interesting / unconventional.

Whenever I come to this sub-forum, I see people saying they “hate the Dictator, they wish they didn’t main him, don’t start using him if you haven’t,” etc.

My question to you guys, why do people say this? What makes this character so much worse than others that people are actually complaining about using him after maining him for 3 years? Why should I not play this character?

Thanks for your time

I can’t speak for anyone else, but for me I main Bison because I suck with everyone else and I like Bison as a character design. Bison is dull. Once you get to a certain proficiency with him, you realize how limited his options are. Most of his cool looking stuff is just gimmicks that can be easily dealt with once you figure out how they work. He has bad mix ups and little comeback factor. A Bison player plays a good[but linear] game and racks up damage with single hits, throws and BnBs, then the opponent confirms some jabs or shorts into a combo leading into Ultra, bringing the health to even. And if the opponent gets a strong lead that’s pretty much the round unless the opponent hands it to you. Whiff Devil’s Reverses to get meter for the next round.