Questions about the difference between the Sanwa compared to the "cheap stuff"

I have a blaze arcade stick sitting here, i got on ebay for £12, :slight_smile: its pretty decent, but the buttons aren’t tactile and the stick itself is so floppy and loose.

I’m close to upgrade to full Sanwa, and just had a few questions about the JLF, is it sturdier and stiffer and smoother? what is it that make its better than the cheaper sticks.

As a beginner I have to ask, are all sticks supposed to be loose? (for quicker movements?) I know the buttons will be a lot more responsive and snappy, but im just worried that the money im spending and the stick may not feel that different to my cheapo stick,

So really some details experiences of guys who have made a similar transition (I have never played on a real arcade cabinet either, and live in the middle of nowhere so couldn’t find one :()

Sorry if this topic sounds so simple, I swear I have tried searching for similar ones without much success.

http://www.slagcoin.com/joystick.html

This site will explain to you anything and everything about any component in an arcade stick.

The biggest difference between a real JLF and a knockoff is the components of the stick itself. The spring, actuator, and switches are all of a higher quality or material.

All my arcade sticks have Sanwa JLF’s in them. I have never touched the particular knock off you are talking about, but if it’s anything like the one in a Madcatz SE, you will definitely see a huge difference by upgrading to real sanwa.

How “floppy” or “snappy” sticks or buttons are are largely based on preference. Sanwa JLFs for example (possibly the most ubiquitous joystick) is definitely on the loose side. Sanwa buttons, likewise, are extremely sensitive and offer very little resistance. If you prefer stiffer buttons, try Seimitsus. If you prefer a stiffer stick, you can also try a seimitsu, or you can change the spring and/or microswitches in the JLF.