Quick help with my toughest match up

gen

I’m new to the whole forum thing, with most of the games I play I usually never visit the forums but my love for gen and the comradery I have with other gen users I’ve played against online made me look into this stuff.

I’ve been playing gen ever since release. Some of the main reasons are nobody seemed to be him online, and having two styles and sets of moves intrigued me. Once I picked him up I couldn’t go back to any of the other characters.

Here’s my problem. Everybody seems to be saying that the Ryu, Ken, Sagat and the lot of em who love to spam their projectiles are the toughest challenge for Gen. Although that may be true in G1 I find that I never feel as if I have a disadvantage in these match ups. I usually win against the likes of them BUT the one character I match up horribly against, whether a pro or novice uses him, is Blanka.

Anybody have any words of advice on how to tackle this or are you other gen users more or less feeling the same disadvantage as I do when the opponent picks this character?

I’m only G2 right now at a little more than 10k gp, so I’m not sure if I am deserving of too much respect from you guys who peruse these forums but I would like to know yalls input.

Sorry for the long post and for those who reply, go easy on me, I’m new to the forum and wont know what your talking about if you start posting all sorts of shorthand for combos.

Thanks

Any time you block a straight blanka ball you can super or ultra.

1st thing you should do is scroll through the match-up thread becasue there is a ton of stuff about Blanka since he is ultimately a bad match-up against Gen. Their are a lot of things you can and should not do in this match-up, like White beard said about Super and Ultra. In fact you can Super Blanka even when hit from a horiz. ball.