Rate/critique my first avatar

To the left of this is my very first avatar attempt, using Photoshop 7. One thing is for sure: I desperately need to learn how make better borders.

So, what would you guys rate my first av on a scale of 1-10? 1 being garbage, 10 being fantastic.

6:i rated this cuz its ok, keep practicing!!

6: It’s not too exciting overall, but the layout/composition is pretty good. It definately shows potential (not that I’m an expert or anything :).)

– tru3tn01
"down for the cause"

Heh, looks amazingly nice for someone, who just has started to work with photoshop. Only the font is a little misplaced - mine too, btw :rolleyes:
My first steps weren’t that good.

Keep up the work and try some basic stuff out to improve your skills. Sadly, that I don’t make good advances. ;(

That shit suck.:smiley:

Edit: Sorry, forgot a word

That shit sucks ass

:lame: :lame:

Thanks for the constructive criticism.

Are there any places where I could download better fonts? And, do you guys think the avatar isn’t that exciting because of the images I chose to use, or just my lack of experience with the right effects?

Edit: Can someone instruct me on how to make those techno/computer effects in avatars, like the ones present in Liquid Stone’s? Is there a site that explains this?

www.1001fonts.com :smiley:

As for the effects bro, i think you gotta figure em out for yourself…If i told you how…i’ll basically be giving you my style :smiley:

\\\\\\edit/////////////////

Oh those kinds of effects! Easy just use the polygonal lasso tool. To make straight edges hold down -shift- while you’re using the tool. Make some wacky designs and see what you like best. Also when doing tech effects it’s nice to use the other marquee tools also like the Circular or the Rectangle…come in major handy :smiley: hope i helped a bit more

\\\\\edit2////////////