Reality Check: How far can one go w/o advance skill

Found it hard to phrase the title but basically just want to know whether it is a pre-requisite to understand frame data, plink, fadc, advanced moves, you know, all the technical stuff in order to be a very good player.
Compare this to a player who plays with fundamental skills e.g. normals, footsies, good matchup understanding, occasional button mashing, choosing suitable characters for yourself.

Is there any top tier fighters who belong to the latter category?

No, I’ve watched top sf2/sf3 players destroy me in SF4 without knowing of fadc/plinking/ sf4 stuff.

They just pick ryu and rape me with fundamentals.

Generally, they go hand in hand. If you start with good fundamentals, the extras come naturally after playing. I had very solid execution and a semi-decent understanding of the game when I started playing fighters seriously, so I ended up overtaking most people I knew and dropping bad habits pretty quickly.

IMO, Footsies are far harder to grasp than Plinking and FADC and junk.

There aren’t any top tier fighters who belong to the latter category as top tier fighters combine the latter with all the advanced techniques. That’s why they’re top tier. You can certainly do decently if you fit into the latter category, but don’t expect to be winning any tournaments, even pretty small ones, without at the very least knowing a few combos to punish and combos you can go into off of hit confirms.