Really getting to me

Ok… ive had SSF4:AE for a while now but due to not being able to do much of anything with a controller … barely played… I now got myself a stick… but im so bad… a friend who doesnt even have a ps3 can come over and kick my ass so easily just by button mashing… jumping… and normal moves…

I really don’t know what im doing wrong… granted i need more practice with the stick but thats a given… but even then i shouldnt be THIS bad… even the computer on EASIEST can give me trouble…
I cant get past most the level 9 trials… timing is so strict it seems…

Is there any tips anyone can give me to help me improve even the smallest bit…Im not total noob to fighting games… im pretty decent at mk9 and put up a good challange for alot of people… i picked that game up instantly and have the ability to make combos pretty easy… but street fighter is just so hard for me.

as you can see… this is really getting to me… as one day i would love to be some kind of decent player

to put it into perspective … out of 5 hours me and my friend have been playing tonight on and off… ive won twice against him… he doesnt even have a console!

id imagine if u can hardly do ur usual moves button mashing would be actualy better… wont have any future… but seemingly “better” … its like u try to do some nice combo and fail, wich means nothing happends cus ur control is off VS friend who only does 3 moves at most “mashing” the hell out of u.
for now thats as far as friend coming over and beating u goes.
umm when u would get urself adjusted to that stick and be able to do everything u had been before then things gotta get back to normal,
think of it as beggining anew… but faster xD… i think

It kind of sounds like you need to get used to your character as well since you’re having trouble with anti-airing. What character do you play? And are there any specific things you are having trouble with? Street Fighter is very much different from Mortal Kombat.