Returning to the game, need opinion on stick, design and SF

Hi all,

Thanks for the invite MrWizard. =)

From what I gather this is the best place to post about this (this is my 1st post)

It’s been a while since I played any fighting game (took time off with life), but I would say I’m a veteran in terms of playtime (years on Tekken and SF series)

With SF V round the corner and my life more ‘balanced’, I’m now ready to come back at the game in a BIG way and make sure everything is in place.

Need your opinions on the fight stick, my design, naming on the stick and SF.

I’ve pre-ordered the new Mad Catz stick:

With regards to ‘technical parts’:
Sanwa GT-Y Octagonal Restrictor Plate for JLF Joysticks
I figure this will help with accuracy and the half-circle motions?

Design:
I’m not a fan of chun-li or the art style, so i’ll be changing everything lol; image below is something I put together and is currently a work in progress:
http://s16.postimg.org/pb32xcwip/TE_2_Ken_v0_JPEG.jpg
I didn’t design the ken, I’m good but not that good.

I’ve ordered 6 white and 2 black sanwa push buttons along with a white ball top to finish it off.
I’m also going to re-spray the whole thing black!

Naming:
Jaykuma is my “fight name”, wow-its-jay is my PSN ID > am thinking I should change the name on the fight stick to Jaykuma, what do you think?

I’m planning on picking up Ultra SF IV on the PS4 within the next week to start practicing and bring my experience back to life.

Thanks in advance

Depends on who you talk to to be honest, the community it self is split of Square, Circle or Octagonal gates.
I my self is a fan of Square gates, I tend to think my joystick movements in a L Shape instead of a quarter circle.
I would recommend learning on a Square gate first and moving on to a octagonal gate to see if it works for you.

Also $14 for a gate is too Much, 10 bucks more I can buy a whole new joystick.
Try ether Paradise Arcade Shop or Focus Attack