Running MAME & xbox360 in a single cab - Suggestions?

hey dudes!

I recently came up on a big blue capcom cabinet in good working order aside from needing a new monitor. I’m in the process of setting up a PC to run MAME as of right now. My goal however would be to eventually run both the PC and an xbox360. IDEALLY I’d love to be able to control both without having to reach into the cabinet at all. Firstly, is there anyone who’s done this as of yet? if so, how did you accomplish it? It seems fairly reasonable, but I’m a bit of a novice at all of this.

my initial thought was to invest in a couple of PS360 PCBs and wire those all up with some additional buttons, getting a new control board cut to accommodate buttons in a viewlix layout. I’m hopeful that something like this might allow me to plug the PCB into both the PC and the 360 at once. I could run a button from the control panel assigned to the home button on the PCB in order to turn the 360 on/off. In order to power the PC on/off, my friend suggested pulling the rocker out of the power supply, running some extra copper and cutting a spot for it somewhere in the cab itself.

I’ve got a 27" LCD with DVI and VGA inputs, so I’d likely run the PC DVI and the 360 VGA… no confusion there.

Sound I haven’t put a whole lot of thought into yet.

I really like figuring all this sort of stuff out, but thought I’d post it here to get some fun/creative feedback. Thanks, all!

If you can j-tag the 360 you can have it run MAME as well as Final Burn Alpha. Problem solved.

I have a similar setup. Do both on VGA. Padhack two 360 controllers. Get USB extension cables for the PC. I can switch from PC to Xbox in a minute or so. It’s not seamless but it’s damned close. Don’t try to connect the PCBs to both at once. It’s not likely to go well.