Rushdown: how important is it, for the win?

LOTS of players, esp. in this forum, talk about being good at rushdown, which I’m not good at doing. I tend to use C-Groove, and I use Rock a lot, although today he actually wasn’t my best character by far (even though he’s often my best character against tournament players), so these factors might make rushdown harder.

I also often hear this game referred to as a turtlefest (haha), and some characters make good turtlers, such as defensive players like Hibiki, perhaps (and maybe Yamazaki with his Snake hands?).

I’m just curious if Rushdown is important for any team, if 3 defensive players aren’t good enough to win.

I guess I should start using N-Groove.

I also have to surrender Rock since I’m convinced he sucks against good players: esp. Sagat or Blanka players. DAMMIT. I guess it’s time to work on my new Vega and Bison, since they’re suddenly bringing me more success than my main characters…well…winning with boring characters is KINDA fun ',:expressionless: (Blanka and Vega [claw]).

ok the whole rushdown tactic is actually a huge mind game.when you’re getting attacked high and low by low jabs and shorts(which have huge priority)it can be really hard to think and it makes u nervous of making a move because you are under pressure.a person that can stay calm under the rushdown tactic and not be mentally pressured will most likely win the fight.

it depends on your style of play and the character u are using.oh andlemme give a hint of advice,rock is one of my players and take it from a pro,rock is not a rushdown character.his fighting skills are meant to control a match at all times.if u want a rushdown character similar to rock pick terry.rock to me is more of a defensive player…