Sagat Newbie - Help

sagat

I played the first SF 2 at a few friends house and bought the SF IV after receiving an XBOX 360 and not enjoying other fighting games. I like the game, but I am horrible at it. Using Sagat, here are some of my issues:

I don’t do well against Cammy. I try to block, but I don’t know when to attack (when I try I am usually hit w/ her next attack). I get FU in the corner. I can win sometimes using TU, but it is just getting lucky. (I get hit trying to use TS).

I am not good at transitioning from block to attack (How do you know when it safe to stop the block and start the attack).

I never use the super or ultra combo b/c I frequently mess it up, so it is easier not to use.

I can not get past the first challenge mode b/c I can not do a kick cancel.

I only beat the computer b/c I corner them and then continually grab them

The only weapons I use are S.HK, H/EX TK, H TU, H TS, and grab.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Also, does it matter what two buttons you push for EX attacks.

Is there any reason I need the 3 kick/punch buttons (not really good for my left hand)

What is FDAC, kara cancel, dash cancel, etc.?

At what point to you input the ultra after knocking someone in the air?

My advice, post less, play (and read) more.
About 3/4ths of your issues could be resolved by practicing and playing more.

You questions could all be answered by reading the stickies, except maybe for the ultra one. Input it as soon as you can and you won’t really go wrong at this level.

Can someone answer this for me too? Is it some sekret sauce technique that I didn’t know? No wonder I suck at this game :pleased:

rtfm