SCV Hori Arcade Stick stopped working

I’ve had my PS3 SCV stick since the end of last summer now. It has worked pretty well for the most part. However, I tried to use it today and it does not work at all. The last time I tried to use it, it seemed like the usb cable had a short in it (in the sense that I had to move the cable a bit for the PS3 to recognize it. No, I did not wrap the cable around the stick or anything like that. Nor can I find any obvious damage on the cable itself. I don’t know if it is something more serious, but I’m thinking it’s probably the USB Cable.

So I tried to open it up to have a look at things for myself (keep in mind that I am a complete newbie with the inner workings of a stick). I looked at where I think the USB cable is connected under what I think is the PCB (the board under the PS3 icon, select button, r3/l3, and turbo stuff). But there is this additional layer of plastic also covering most of the stick to the point where I can’t really get a good look at everything. Plus, I can’t really get a good look at what is exactly connected to the PCB (I can faintly see that there are colored wires connected to it, but the most visible stuff is just two sets of a mess of white wires glued onto it it).

I really don’t have the money to drop on another arcade stick at the moment, nor do I have a good repair person in my area. Given the money I spent for this, I might as well try to replace the USB Cable. The problem with that is that I have absolutely 0 experience in soldering, and I don’t even know what to look for in doing something like that. Does anyone here have any advice, especially people who have fumbled with this stick before?

Well there are solderless solutions including terminal strips and butt crimp connectors.