Seeking Assistance

c-viper

First off, I apologize if there are other threads like this, I used the search tool but didn’t find anything.

Anyway, I’m very new to street fighter, I started playing when it came out on the PC a little over a month ago. Just over a week ago, I decided to get a TE madcatz stick. Before I got the stick, I was pretty much just spending my time on unlocking the characters, colors, taunts, and working on challenge trials. After I got the stick, I started working on memorizing combos and move execution in training mode against the dummy opponent.

Anyway,getting to the point, I played my first online matches today (goddam it’s laggy!) and I got my ass handed to me. The problem isn’t that I don’t know the moves and combos, it’s that I don’t know when to use them. As soon as my opponent jumped at me, I just blanked out, and just sorta… pushed buttons and hoped for the best…

So I guess what I mean to ask is, are their any excercises or something that will teach me WHEN to actually use combos and moves etc? (unlike the challenge trials which teach you HOW to execute moves)

Oh and, I see a lot of people saying that new players should learn Ryu or Ken first, but I reeaaalllyyy don’t want to play a shoto character, I have a lot of fun playing viper… although if playing with Ryu or Ken to start out is truly necessary to get better at this game, I will do it…

Thanks in advance!