Severe difficulty with getting play made, need options. (long post!)

The situation:
My campus has a drama-club. Each semester they do a series of three short student written plays. I have never done theater before so this was very exciting for me, I have studied television production so I, more or less, know the ins-and-outs of how theater works. I like to write scripts, I think I am pretty good if my self-promotion means anything.

The problem:
The bureaucratic nature of the drama-club. I never in my wildest dreams imagined I would face this much opposition in getting my creativity out in the open. After auditions I was given a role in one of the student plays. The play is called Help Wanted (the title has no relation to the story for some reason), the “story” revolves around two slaves in ancient Egypt who conspire against the blowhard pharaoh and his advisor (played by me). The script was atrocious. Riddled with spelling errors, grammar errors, blocking wasn’t indicated with parentheses, the story was virtually non-existent, the characters dull and pointless. It was bad. During rehearsals we were constantly fumbling through our lines trying to make sense of what was just said. We made it through in 2 minutes, the play should last 8 minutes long.

I protested to the club director. I told her this play was unusable, then asked to make a rewrite. They said I couldn’t, that it was up to the director to authorize any changes made. Fine I thought. So I set about rewriting the play with a friend of mine, over several hours we crafted a story that made it more of a play within a play. Similar to The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes. Overall I am extremely happy with how it turned out.