SF4 or SSF?

First off, I’m a nub.

Secondly, I went in to my local gamestop today to buy what I thought was SF4… The lady guided me to SSF4 and told me this is the route to go as I will still be playing with SF4 players online/having a few new characters… I figured this would be a lie because of the fact that SF4 players don’t have these “new” characters loaded on their disc… She also explained to me how the new SF title is coming out the 28th(USA)… Am I over stressing this or are SSF4 and SF4 two different games under the same title?? If they are different, could you please list the big points so I can choose which title sounds more appealing to me… And if they are different, which one has a bigger following competitively.

Also, will most of you be switching to the new title on the 28th? Why or why not? I am a complete noob and really want to understand/get good at the series.

Thank you.

Street Fighter IV is a 2008 game and is usually referenced to as “vanilla”. It’s the first release in the IV series. Super Street Fighter IV was released in 2010. It’s the update to SFIV and added 10 characters. It’s usually called “super”. The newest version, Arcade Edition, was released June 7th of this year and is the latest version. It added four new characters and is referred to as “AE”. The lady was talking about the disc version of AE, which releases in about a week. Everyone who’s anyone has already downloaded AE and is already playing it. My suggestion, wait a week and buy the disc version so you don’t have to buy Super and then download AE. (unless you can’t really wait that long)

Well depends if he wants to shell out more money for the Disc version of SSF4: AE.