SF4 PC - buy Steam version or standalone off amazon?

Hi guys I’m very new to SF4 but so far I’ve really had fun the few times I’ve tried it out and I’ve decided to take the plunge and buy a TE stick and SF4 for the pc.
I’ve noticed that its about $40 on both Steam and Amazon.

Can anyone tell me if either version is better than the other for any reason? I’ve used steam in the past for Half Life 2 and CSS and it worked fine. But I know that for SF4 there is the added component of MS live. wondering how that integrates into Steam and the standalone.

Street Fighter IV on Xbox 360 uses Xbox LIVE.
Street Fighter IV on PC uses Games for Windows - LIVE.

SFIV does not do cross-platform.

All SFIV for PC are the same, except for the DRM.
Steam will use its DRM for SFIV.
Retail will use SecuROM.
Other digital outlets will use either SecuROM or that outlet’s respective DRM.

Regardless of where SFIV bought, they will all use GFWL to play online.

I don’t think I answered your question. :sad:
Sorry.

I got SFIV off Steam because I’ve been really busy with work and haven’t had time to go to the store. I basically just bought it and let it download and install while I’m out.

But to give you my opinion on it, SFIV on Steam seems to work pretty well for me. Games for Windows Live (GFWL) is integrated into the game so I think you’ll have it regardless of whether you get it from Steam or from an actual retailer. If you don’t have / never used a Games for Windows Live login, I think you’ll be required to sign up for one, but it’s not too big of a hassle. Doing so will allow you to use the same GFWL account for other GFWL games like Gears of War and so forth.

yes steam is awesome. a hard copy might be better though as you can resell it later on. not sure on the that though i only buy and sell xbox games.

Well i’ve bought plenty of games from steam in the past. HL2, CSS, Left4Dead, Team Fortress 2, Bioshock, Crysis, etc.