SFIV Tutor Needed

Hi guys im fairly new to SF I only really played with my brother when i was younger. Around 6 months ago decided to purchase IV and was seriously struggling so i came here for assistance, a lot of you gave me some great advice but i soon gave up as i felt i wasn’t making any progress but with the upcoming release of SFxT I thought id try again but im still finding it really hard to get better seeing as most games i get into, are with people who are a lot better than me and KO me almost instantly so i dont really get a chance fight. It would be great if someone could maybe tutor me by teaching me combos and letting me practice on someone who will give me a chance to get better. I play on PS3 and my PSN ID is supersmashguy213 if you want to add me.

I’m on Xbox so I cant help you there, but I’d recommend doing the trials for different characters to get a feel for the timing of the combos. Balrog might be a good character to start with as he has relatively simple combos, good damage output, and good pokes. I feel like the game is mostly about punishing your opponent. Punish them for jumping in using Anti-Air attacks and punish them for doing unsafe moves. The key is learning what moves are unsafe on block (shoryukens are a prime example), so that you don’t do them too much and you are able to react and get a damaging punish when your opponent messes up. The best thing you can do though is to go into training mode, put the computer on auto-block and practice your combos (you can find combos for each character on this forum). Another big thing in actual matches is watching out for cross up attacks (certain attacks that will hit on the other side). The more you play, the more you’ll start to recognize when someone is close enough to jump over and hit you on the other side. Play against the computer as well. It’s really frustrating trying to play online against people when you first start…actually that doesn’t change lol