SFxT: I feel like I'm in over my head

Hi guys,

I’ve played Tekken 3 to 6, Street Fighter 2 to 4, I’ve played Marvel vs Capcom, X-Men vs Street Fighter, etc … I have no problem doing stuff like air combos, 10-strings, or like, SF3 Dudley’s command strings. I know I’m a bit of a noob, but I know I’m enough that I’m not a button masher.
But for the life of me, I just can’t chain something like Xiaoyu’s standing lp -> lp -> lp -> lk.

I can totally do Asuka’s crouching lk -> standing mk -> down + mp -> forward-down-forward kicks (not sure if that’s accurate, but it’s different normal moves chained into a special move). But for some reason, I can’t chain the simple ones. I can stand in training mode trying Xiaoyu’s lp-> lp with different rhythms and I’d get it maybe 1 out of 20. :frowning:

Would appreciate any tips or comments anyone has.
Thanks in advance!

Do you understand the difference between chains and links?

Just keep in mind that this is a new game, and don’t be so hard on yourself; have faith in your skills, and keep working on your timing. We are all learning right now, so you aren’t alone in struggling with certain aspects, so keep at it and don’t give up; you should be fine ;).

Please correct me if I’m wrong. Still learning :slight_smile:

A chain is where you can press the next button before the animation is done, whereas a link is where we take advantage of hitstun animation, in which case, we wait for the hit, then input the next one. So a chain would be something like lp -> mp -> hp -> hk, whereas a link would be something closer to a Tekken 10-string, where you try to time the next attack to be right after each hit. Trying hard both ways, in case what I’m doing it was wrong, and just not very consistent I guess.

Thanks! I’ll try my best!