Shoot me straight

Hey everyone, great site.

I’m looking for an honest answer before I start sinking my time into learning a game.

I’ve really gotten an itch to try and start playing fighting games competitively but I’m a complete noob. Wife surprised me with an Xbox One a few months back and I decided to give Killer Instinct a whirl since I played it back in the arcade days and it was a load of fun. I spent the last couple days watching youtube vids and reading stickies and my this is a complex genre of games. My main concern is I can only seriously dedicate around an hour to and hour and a half week nights to playing and a little more on weekends. I am curious to know if you guys feel that is adequate time to become a competitive player? I really would love to become a part of this community and play at a high level. Also, I happened to have a Tekken 6 wireless fightstick for PS3 would I be better off picking up Street Fighter for PS3 and using the fight stick from day one? Or is it ok to focus on playing Killer Instinct with a controller while I’m learning the nuances of the game and characters with an intention of moving to a fight stick? I have no problem dropping money on a decent fight stick just don’t want to rush out yet and buy one until I determine which game I should focus on.

Also, I haven’t really found guides on HOW to practice. My currently plan is to spend around 45 mins a night in the dojo with a character learning blocking, basic moves, anti air, etc. They apply it vs AI opponents first with a plan to move on to online play. Would love to meet some sparring partners as well.

Thanks for reading!

Once you get basic controls, execution, etc out of the way, Stop playing AI, at least for “strategy” purposes. People do not play like AI, and it might give you bad habits for later.