Should I buy an arcade stick now?

Hi everyone! I’m new to these forums and I guess you can say im fairly new to fighting games aswell!
For awhile now I’ve been thinking of buying an arcade stick (order actually) but im hesitant for the following reasons
1-The release of the next gen consoles
2-I have no access to fight sticks where I live, no modders or anyone that probably knows about their existence (so if I ever needed to mod or fix im out of luck)
3-The announcement of the USFIV TE2 sticks
I have my eyes on a TE stick for the ps3 now, should I purchase now or wait?

Bump.
Any kind of help would be extremely appreciated

to be honest, I don’t know if anyone can really help you

I don’t know your income, how much you value cash in hand, how much you like the TE2 over what you can get now, etc

If you’re new to fighters, it’s definitely worth learning on a stick. You can learn and play on a pad, but you’re inevitably going to want a stick eventually- certain techniques are much easier on a stick, sticks are easily repaired, and good pads for fighting games are hard to come by (and often damn near impossible to fix when they wear out). Better to learn on one now than have to go through the transition period if you learn fundamentals on a pad. This thread is a good place to start: What Stick/Controller Should I Buy? Read the Guide on Pg 1 Before Posting

My max budget is 200$, I feel like the TE2 would be a much better choice for me than a TE because of it being compatible with both the PS3 and PS4

I see, if I continue to practice on a gamepad and later on purchase a stick, would my skill be affected?

Thanks for the replies