snk buttons

ive searched the forum and couldnt find this info anywhere. i know most of you will think im a total newb (and i am) but i must know… how are the buttons layed out for snk fighters on an arcade stick? (kof 11/neogeo)

thx for your time

A, B, C, D, E

A=Light Punch
B=Light Kick
C=Strong Punch
D=Strong Kick
E=Blow Off Attack

donno where the E button is actually located but they are usually in a row I believe but I havent play 11 in arcade…yet.

Neo-Geo SNK games…

_BCD
A

Or…

BCD
A

KoFXI/NeoWave…

ACE
BD

B C D
A E

Kinda like that for Jap arcade setups.

AB E
CD

For USA arcade cabs.

I didn’t think there was a seperate button (E) for the CD attacks.

Only for the newer games.

When I saw it, it was

ACE
BD

Theres also some places where they use the box layout for older SNK games and even a straight line across well:

AC
BD

or

ABCD

That’s incorrect.

Since they moved to Atomiswave they’ve used the box layout:
ACE
BD

If you’ve seen any other layout anywhere for an SNK since they stopped using the Neo Geo MVS they’re wrong and you need to correct them. This is for EVERYTHING SNK-made for the Atomiswave. Hell, this is for everything on the Atomiswave anyway.

Well, with all due respect SK, you’re wrong: Tenka’s layout was different (but granted, it was the only exception and who knows if they’ll only stick to this on Taito type-X2 :confused: )

So to summarize everything :

NeoGeo MVS

line layout
_BCD or ABCD
A

diamond layout
AB
CD

six-button layout (unofficial?)
(could be found sometimes for some older games -mainly samurai spirits- up to SS2 included)
ABE (E=AB)
CDF (F=CD)

Atomiswave

EVERYTHING but SSTenka
ACE
BD

SSTenka
ABC
D_E

Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong, but as far as official layouts go, I’m 99.99% sure I’m not missing anything.

Got me there, there was only one Tenka machine on Okinawa and I never got to see it. And they show the layout in the game itself in the Spirits Select. =/