So I am new to the game and Im maining Akuma. Please help

akuma

So I have the arcade stick and super and I have been playing for about 2 months now. I have friends that play that I work with that are pretty good, I am away at school now and I have been trying to play akuma these last months and let me just say its an extremely frustrating process. I have just now gotten is combos down(Most of them) and I still get destroyed online not to mention how annoying it is to not have player matches…Sure endless battle is cool but I dont like waiting to play a video game that I own. I was advised not to play Akuma because of how difficult he is to master and the high learning curve. I personally think he is the coolest character and the most fun to watch when he is played correctly. I try to go on these forums and look at combos and stuff but the stuff is like Greek to me. I dont understand any of the lingo, and I feel like Im kinda just coming into fighting games at the wrong time. I feel as if everyone has been playing these games for like 8 years and here i am playing for 2 months and just getting absolutely destroyed everytime i go online. Any advice to help a noobie akuma player out?

Akuma is for advanced players and you are a newcomer. You must know the vortex, some framedata, priorities, your offensive movement ranges, mixups, blockstrings, frametraps, OS and every matchup (that means every enemy moves/options) not just “the combos”. With combos you can only win the dummy on training mode. First of all try to play solid on the ground, don’t jump free unless you knock down your enemy or you see an advantage when your enemy made a mistake. Then read guides, watch videos, etc… and understand what are you watching from every perspective.

[media=youtube]nJVuY1UefVo&feature=related"[/media]

RTFS.

Lol. Don’t listen to this trash; play whichever character you like.

However, if you’re looking for basic advice, try the Newbie Saikyo Dojo.