So I'm new to this whole community. Looking for assistance and friends

Long story short, I’ve played a lot of guilty gears in my days… chucking coins and the sort… a fair amount of other 2D fighters. Not a huge fan of the 3Ds… but that’s beside the point. I’ve recently been introduced to the fighting game community… and decided to pick myself up a copy of umvc3 since it seems like the hot fighter right now. Lottle did I know, there is a lot to this game. At least a lot compared to my GG days. So I have a few questions…

First of all, let me explain my team. On point is Dante. I love the way he plays. He’s extremely aggressive, and that’s just how I like to play. My second character is Spiderman, for two reasons. First of all, my lady is a huge comic book fan, and her favorite marvel hero is spidey. Second, I read earlier that he’s great at pulling out anchors, chipping away at them, and most importantly if played correctly becomes incredible at lasting through the opponents X Factor. As for my anchor, I picked up Dorm. Because I love Dorm. And I enjoy the way he plays with the charges and all that fun jazz.
Now my questions are… first of all, is that a reliable team? I’m not looking for overpowered or unstoppable… I’m looking for characters that I enjoy that can hold their own on a fairly competitive level. Also, what assists should I be using? I figured black hole is best for Dorm… but that’s all I’ve got because my understanding of everything in the game isn’t 100%

Another question is this: why have I alwags have a problem with defense? I mean, I know I’m an extremely offrnsive player… but defense seems near.impossible for me to get good at. Any tips on how I can practice?