Soldersucking accident!

So I’m a noob when it comes to soldering but I am so freaking close to finishing my custom arcade stick so I just want to finish soldering and start playing SF4 again :P. This is the pcb

http://www.clockswork.org/images/DSCN2328.JPG

So what happened was that I did a bad joint and I was about to solder suck the bastard. But being the noob that I am I held the solder sucker to close to the “A signal pad”. The pad ripped off and now I’m not getting a signal from A. Is there a way to fix this? Maybe start soldering from the back? I haver a old wired 360 controller with no common ground.

You should post pics of your PCB instead of pics of your joystick, and post 'em in the padhacking thread. :slight_smile:

that sucks. Looking at that pic though, your other joints you soldered look pretty bad. Might wanna redo them or your gonna get a bad/faulty connection

you should maybe look at the soldering tutorials peppered through out the site, i believe slagcoin has one up too… your solders basically look like the DON’T pictures rather than the DO.

have a look at the tutorials though seriously… how many pads can you afford to go through? lol

Judging from the photo, there are slightly more problems than that signal pad. Like AJ said, the other solder points are pretty bad – they are not shiny and look likely to crack.

I have a question though… don’t get offended: Did you remove the black finish from each copper connection? From what I can tell, you are trying to solder through the black stuff, which would result in your horrible joints since the black stuff isn’t metal. It looks as though you simply lifted off the black pad on top of the copper connection in the photo to reveal the copper beneath. I have no idea what that clear goo looking stuff is either…

Anyways, it is possible to solder to the trace, but I don’t know where it is on your pad.

You can recovery from that quite easily. Scrape a little of the trace away and solder to that instead.