Someone knowledgable confirm I'm buying the right things (SE stick conversion)

Hey guys- I’m upgrading an SE stick to what’ll functionally be a TE stick. This is what I’m buying from Lizard Lick. Sound good?

Sanwa JLF-TP-8T Ball Handle Joystick, 4 & 8-Way Adjustable

8 Sanwa OBSF-30 Pushbuttons with Vertical Microswitch

Sanwa GT-Y Octagonal Restrictor Plate

I’m pretty sure all of this is compatible, save for the stick. I understand you’re supposed to use an 8Y or so it seems- can someone tell me if I’ve got it right?

Thanks!

you got it! all those would fit right in to the SE (might have to remove the mounting plate from the JLF)

Restrictor plate is optional right?

yeah I want to give the octagonal a try. Not quite sure I like square yet, but I’ve got till when my order arrives to find out.

Thanks for the help!

which restrictor gives the stick a full round feeling???

also is the seimitsu stick better then the sanwa’s?
sorry im new to this custom modding but i want to make my stick as close as possible to the arcade feeling.

i have somewhat the same list as the op except i added the bat stick add on and i am now unsure which stick replacement to buy. sanwa? or seimitsu? is there a noticable difference? is there a comparison thread somewhere?

any help would be great.

Octagonal feels like a circle with little ridges in it so you can feel exactly where each direction is. If you want a circular feel but still want a lot of precision i would get an octagonal gate.

Seimitsu and Sanwa are both top-notch japanese arcade part manufacturers. You can’t go wrong with either. Some people like sanwa better, some people like Seimitsu better, its just a matter of preference and opinion. But as i said you can’t go wrong with either. (Although, the mad catz sticks were made based completely off the designs by Sanwa. Its basically a sanwa knockoff, and TE stick uses actual sanwa parts. So if you want your stick to be a lot like the TE version, i would get sanwa parts.)