Sorry, But I need To Know

Look, I’m not trying to joke or troll or anything, I honestly don’t know what these are… I’m not a professional player or even a competitive one do to my area’s lack of interest in the Street Fighter series… So, uh, without any further ado…

What are block strings?
To me they just look like combos that are done on a blocking opponent to get a bit of chip damage or something- but is that their actual purpose?

**What exactly is a mix up combo? **
To me, “mix up” is just switching up tactics on an opponent to make sure you aren’t predictable-but I’ve read in a lot of cases, like akuma’s, mixup starts with a predictable attack, like demon flip, and then that becomes part of a combo…

Please note that I did use the wiki and search Function. Currently, there is no article in the wiki- to my knowledge at least- that solely focuses on the definition, process, and application of block strings. I do hope to learn from whatever knowledge you have to give to me, if you feel so obliged to answer my questions. However, I will continue to look for answers to my questions while I wait for a response to this thread.
Thanks in advance…
-TNB-

block string is a string of attacks with no gaps for the opponent to be able to do anything in between the attacks.

[media=youtube]6lYsUZGF3VI&feature=related[/media]

Blockstrings can have different purposes, such as getting chip damage, keeping the opponent pinned in place for various reasons, setting up for a mixup, pushing the opponent away from you, etc.