Sound in Competitive Play

So I’m relatively new to the fighting game community (picked up MVC3 last April) and had a question about how much people rely on sound when playing at tournaments.

When practicing at home I always had the sound on and it was easy for me to hear assist calls and other audio cues. The first time I went out to play casuals I noticed I could barely hear those cues between the 4 other stations playing and people talking. I imagine it’s even worse in a tournament setting with hundreds of people and many more stations going.

I’ve now switched over to listening to music while playing because I don’t want to get used to sound then not have it in a tournament situation. It’s a pity though as I love the sound design in this game and my character themes are awesome (zero, nova, hawkeye).

What is everyone else’s philosophy on sound in competitive play?

You know, I never even thought about that. I always have the volume on low just because I often have roommates sleeping, so I miss out on hearing things like assist calls, and I’ve had people punish me on sound reaction before. I do see a lot of players playing with headphones on, and I never thought about them missing out on that tactic. But, if the sound is so bad in that setting as you say, maybe that’s why it’s not an issue.

if you really want sound when you play at tournies just use an Astro Mixamp and headphones. It’s a pretty neat gadget - it uses Dolby Surround and you can get surround sound with just headphones. I like it a lot.

You should never rely on sound for game cues. Tournaments are too loud for this to really be effective.

option 1. invest in expensive headsets
option 2. bring portable, but loud speakers and plug them in to the set up
option 3. play music

Closed ear headphones.

Turn up the TV. That usually drowns out the other stuff.