SQUARE GATE VS 8 WAY in SSF4

Can someone tell me the positives and negatives of switching from a 4 to an 8 way gate on my joystick. I only play ssf4 and was wondering if there were advantages . I mainly play quarter circle characters

Thanks

JOe MIggs aka CT VALLE

I personally prefer a square gate for charge characters and an octo gate for quarter characters. For some reason I have a harder time hitting diagonals with an octo gate. I miss blanka’s ultra 2 50% of the time with an octo but can hit it perfect every time with a square. Now the octo for fireball users and Zangief rocks socks imho…

Depends on the stick. Some sticks dont hit both microswtiches with an octo gate, meaning it has to be at a precise position, to get diagonals to come out, same goes for blocking low.

I’m very new to this stuff, have a question. If I have a Tekken 6 Hori stick, which “gate” do I have? I’m going to assume octo?

You have your definitions mixed up. Both Square and Octagon gates are 8-way (in other words, able to read 8 directions). A 4-way gate only allows for up, down, left and right with no diagonals.

That said, I grew up on square gates on Japanese candy cabs so you know where my preference lies.

I got my first stick yesterday it’s a TE round2 square gate and I love it all characters are pretty easy to use I don’t know y people have so many problems and run out n change gates

Some people played games in America, you know, in arcades, BEFORE SFIV came out…and used circle gates…? I don’t know, I’m just guessing…

i personally cant stand octo gates. i use all types of characters including charge and qc motion characters and i have the hardest time getting moves to come out on octo. i tried to get used to it but as previously stated its about preference and what works for you.
:china: