Square Vs Octigonal Gate

Hi Im a noob to the forums, and just gearing up in terms of my SF4 play for some tournament level action. I have been using the Madcatz MVC2 fight stick which features a square gate and I have been experiencing difficulty, executing Fireballs and the Ultras/supers as I am a shoto, not charge player. I love how easy it is to Shoryuken with the square gate but my trouble executing Fireballs / specials is killing me online. I just wanted to ask, Is it worth it to switch to a octagonal gate?

No restrictor gate is objectively better than the other, it all boils down to familiarity. Square gate is more than good enough for any motion, but so is octogonal. Experiment with different setups if you seriously think the gate is holding you back, but it’s most likely a practice issue, not a hardware one.

It took me a while to learn japanese sticks coming from bat tops (not even Happ, a generic-ass bat top brand they use here in South America), to a point I’d mess up stuff like dash-in, QCFx2, or just jumble my inputs period. And I have big-ass hands, so yes, at times I wondered if maybe the dinky jap stick was demanding something I couldn’t do, so I wondered about switching gates, getting a larger american-style stick, etc. etc… It was frustrating but it eventually worked itself out and now my execution is at the level it used to be, if not a bit better. So hang in there, bro

When I ordered the parts for my arcade stick, I bought both and found Square is easier with charge characters while Oct is better for all other characters

I bought a octo gate for half-circle characters. Havent complained yet.

If you’re anti-charge like me, go octo. Its based on preference.