SRK nurses?

Was wondering if there are any RN’s on the board?

I’m a future student… doing the prereq’s and the work experience (might have found a job once a week as a care attendant) and volunteering in the hospitals right now. The programs are quite competitive in Vancouver. But I was wondering if you could talk about your experiences as a nurse. (especially if you are critical care because I’m looking to get into perfusion)

Not a registered nurse yet, since I’m only in my second year (of four). I’m not exactly sure what type of field I’m going to work in. I have lots of interests. Over here in The Netherlands there’s basically two big fields you can do: physical care (hospitals) and psychiatric care (mental institutions). I happen to like both and hope to be able to combine those two. There’s many more fields ofcourse, like mentally handicapped, youth care and geriatrics.

At the moment I got a parttime job as an care-assistant. I basically aid the elderly with the daily activities (or do them for them if they aren’t able to), like washing, showering, getting dressed, preparing meals. Next to that I also have to observe skin condition, their mood and other needs. It’s also important to just have a good talk with the elderly. Most of them are very lonely. It breaks my hard to hear some of their children just stopped visiting.

Over here we have this thing called home-care and you basically help the people at home. They vary from people that are recovering from a hospital visit to the elderly. I’m not sure if there an equivalent in the USA?

My plans are to become a nurse practicioner. So after my four years studying for ‘regular’ nurse, I have to work another two years and then I’d be qualified to follow the course to nurse practicioner. Here in The Netherlands, it’s pretty new. I’m sure this job originated in the States.