SSF4 AE2012: Sucking big time

Hi,

sorry for the uncertain title, but i just dont know how to call it otherwise.

Here is my problem:

I picked up SSF4 at the Steam Summer Sale, since i was looking for a new game to play competitively. I’m completely new to fighting games.
So I kinda looked up everything I could find for beginners: guides, video tutorials and all that stuff and i think i got a lot of knowledge in the past two weeks about the game in general and I really start liking the game, its much more technically as i thought.

I can shoot fireballs consistently on both sides and all that stuff but I just can’t make it work in real matches. I guess my biggest problem is spacing.

I have played like ~30 hours now (including training sessions) and I still suck big time at the game. I know 30h is not much and im aware that i probably have to spend the next 6-12 month to get to a decent level, but I get completely destroyed on all online matches. So i started playing Arcade Mode and I can’t even finish it on Medium Hard. I probably can learn more online but in my mind I should be able to beat the AI on every level, right? So I dont really know what to do, if I should keep playing Arcade till I beat the AI or just go Online.

I read that the first few months are really hard and a lot of people give up on the game. i dont want to do that, but its pretty frustrating when you cant see progress in your play whatsoever.

So if you have any tips on how to get over these first few months or if you just have some motivational words for me, please leave a comment.

Thanks in advance

• A (desperate) fighting game beginner

No, the AI will make you worse at the game. It jumps recklessly so you’ll try to pre-emptively uppercut, which works great on computers and all, but is awful online. They’ll also read your inputs at any level and counter with a reversal or even an Ultra. It can be better sometimes just to play against a training dummy set to block randomly.