SSF4 learning progression. What should I be doing? Roadmap?

Hey! So long story short, I’ve tried to get into fighting games a couple of times over the past 3-4 years but I always get way ahead of myself and give up because of the sheer amount of information that I try to take in at once.

But once again, here I am trying to get halfway decent at this genre. I was just wondering what I should be studying over the next few weeks (and months). For now, I’ve picked a character that I enjoy. I’m thinking of spending at least a week in arcade mode just getting the handle of utilizing their normals and executing their specials. Watching what abilities the other characters have as well. After a week or two, I’ll spend another week trying to learn some basic combos, links, etc. What about after that? I don’t really want to study frame data, matchups, and whatnot with 2013 coming out soon.

So I guess the biggest question is that for a complete beginner, what should I be practicing and for about how long? Am I on the right track so far where I’m trying to get the handle on the basics of my character?

I would say practice all of your normals. Figure out what they do, how fast they come out, what they beat in terms of opponents moves. Once you have all that then work on execution of normal special moves. People say do 50 fireballs, if you mess up start over.

Once you are confident with your ability with basic moves then Google\youtube simple BnB (bread and butter) combos for your toon.

After you have a simple arsenal go online and see what happens to you. If you get bodied because you jump in to much write it down (or remember) and try to play your next match without jumping.

After you are comfortable with online play go to a local tournament and meet people and get your whooped.

Then just practice

If you want more advanced help look up frame data for all your moves so you know exactly what beats what