SSF4: Tips for defending tick throws?

Hey Ive been playing fighting games for several years but only a few playing SF. I have a problem with avoiding tick throws. My friend uses them alot against me simply because he knows it works. This situation makes him lazy and me frustrated. Any tips?

I’m kind of a scrub, but I heard you can mash the lp and lk at the same time while your crouching. It will come out a lk or it will tech the throw. that’s one option, but you can still be shoryukened. I hate tick throws as well. I can’t react. No one can be protected 100% of the time from them.

If you can sorta see where they’re going with their next move while you’re in (IE about to go for a throw) block stun, just press the throw command before they can successfully throw you. It’ll tech their throws more times than not.

Is this one of those option select cases? so i can go for a crouch grab and if he does grab it will break if he doesnt the crouching short goes

Yes but you don’t “mash it”. After every blocked lp you press lk and lp, so if he does a tick throw you will tech it. If he does nothing crouching short comes out. Ideally you don’t want to get in the habit of doing this because a good player will recognize it and end his blockstrings with shoryukens or ex messiahs to catch the low short.

Sweet. Im not dealing with a super good player so I should be ok till he catches on which I want him to do. Unfortunatly his worst problem in my eyes, is he likes shenanigans to much when Im playing to get generally more skillful. It doesn’t mix well. I really want to break him of this but at the same time I am suseptible to such shenanigans.

doesnt tornado throw beat throw? If he gets predictable I think that jab tornado throw will beat his tick throw.

BackDash off the block confirm from the jab is also an option.