Stick Testing and Beginner Tips

Hey all, i’m very very new to sticks. I’ve played in a few arcades in the US and in Japan but have only used a stick <10 times since i’ve started playing SF about two years ago. So anyway, i was very happy to find out that my sticks arrived today and i picked them up as soon as i got out of school. I now have 2 Madcatz Standard Edition FIght Sticks, and i’ve only just started playing around with them now (im fucking aweful with them too. lol.). So i have a few questions that i couldn’t find specific answers to yet.

1.) I’d like to know how to thoroughly test my stick to make sure it is working correctly. ** – Of course, i’ve tried it out so far on HDremix (ps3) and Third Strike (ggpo), and even though im having difficulty pulling things off, it is more than likely that it is my own lack of stick experience that is getting in the way. – So what can I do to make sure all my buttons and my joystick are working perfectly, without having my lack of skill as a factor?
2.)
My second question is about my joystick and a sound that it is making. Obviously it is supposed to make a weak clicking sound when you move it from neutral to a direction. However, **sometimes it tends to make a deeper sounding click like it is hitting something inside the stick, not sure if it is the plastic or something else or what. Is this normal or am i being to rough with my motions? **Also, as a followup, how much punishment can these sticks take? Obviously i dont want to break the stick or any of the microswitches by moving it around too roughly… Is that possible or are these things usually pretty strong?