Suggestions for a soldering iron?

Can somebody help me pick a soldering iron? What is everyone using? Toodles?

I use a dirt cheap 20W one which I have filed to get a finer tip for all my padhacking and dual mods.

This is the one I use for all of my stuff

I don’t really go for anything fancy, but honestly I’ve been using the one that he sells on gamingnow.net for a while now and it’s working out perfect for me.

Now this is one area Radioshack doesn’t suck ass at lol
I’ve used the same one for over a year now. Really the only thing you’d wanna do is gob the tip with solder when your done soldering. When your ready to solder the next time use a sponge dipped in flux to clean and it’s just like new. I’ve been using the same tip for the past 9+ months :slight_smile:

As long as don’t get a high wattage one, you’re fine. 15 watts is plenty. That cheapo one from Radio Shack works fine for stick building applications.

I was gonna start cleaning my tip, but the cost of a new tip is only like 2 bucks, and the cost of the cleaner was just as much or more. I figured I may as well just replace the tip when it’s not working well.

Anyways I totally recommend a 15 watt from radioshack. I first started off using a 30 watt and it was way too hot. I hated soldering back then. Now I love it.

I use a cheapo Welter iron w/ station gotten from Fry’s. It’s nice as it was only $20 and has an adjustable temperature + iron holder.

i didnt want to make a new topic so i think ill ask here

besides the Soldering Iron and Solder what else should i buy before i use it? like things necessary for cleaning?

edit:
also is this sold good

i was thinking not all solder is the same so wasnt sure

All solder isn’t the same but that’s good solder. You need rosin-core for the type of work you do on arcade sticks. The other kind is for heavier duty soldering I believe, and doesn’t work well unless you have some flux to go with it.