Take the Jim Crow voting test

If you were a black person in Louisiana prior to the 1965 Voting Rights Act, here’s the literacy test you had to pass if you wanted to vote in an election.

You had to get a perfect score and you only had 10 minutes to do it. Take a shot.

It’s not even lunch and you’re already making me want to punch someone in the face. Well played.

English isn’t my first language and I ain’t even mad. People think they are tough with their internet trolling but goddam.

LOL

I love the comments from white folks saying “I could’ve passed this, it’s not that hard”.
Cue the Rockb Camface gif

I was confused on a few parts because the wording seems to purposefully mislead the test taker, which is probably the point of this dumb test.

Either way, I graduated college so I’ll be okay.

Well it is an absurd test that’s obviously designed to make people fuck up, and is, quite ironically, awfully written, but it’s passable. Aside from the absurd (unless you’re talking about non Euclidean Geometry) concept of a “curved line” everything in it is doable.

Everything is doable, but is it doable within the absurd 10-minute time limit? Some of those ridiculous questions(none of which have anything to do with the process of voting) require a large amount of abstract thinking.

Ironically, I bet the vast majority of the current able voting public would not be able to pass that test, no matter their ethnicity.

Yes it’s doable in the allotted time, but almost certainly not by anyone with less than a 5th grade education. I majored in Physics, and was 2 classes short of a Math major, and a lot of the questions are mathematical in nature, and all logic based which is why I’m confident I’d be able to pass, but I realize that most folks would struggle a lot more with it.

I get wanting the voting public to be knowledgeable, but this is pretty useless.

Whoever wrote this test deserved to be hung.