TE Button issue (SOLVED)

Hi. A couple weeks ago my TE round 2 took a solid smash to the ground (large enough to snap the cord door in 3 pieces). I reassembled the sides that fell off, and it was pretty much good as new again. Problem being a button didn’t work (square). I have tried replacing the wires/QDs holding onto the button and barrier strip, but that didn’t solve the problem. I posted on the absolute newbie thread, and someone said to just solder a new wire onto the small circuit board under the home and turbo panel. I ran into a few problems along the way.

First problem being: I’m not an excellent solderer. Problem two: The place I need to solder is in the middle of the ribbon cable, which quite obviously is stuck together, and then glued down. Here’s where I need some help: Should I just solder a wire under the ribbon cable on square (the actual solder points themselves) directly to the button, or should I desolder the wire on the ribbon cable and replace it? I’ve done this on my mayflash once (it wasn’t a ribbon cable though), and it’s pretty easy. AFAIK you heat up the solder point and pull out the wire and shove a new one in, but on a ribbon cable this task proves to be difficult, and I would probably have to desolder the rest of the ribbon cable and then replace it after, which in my opinion is probably higher risk than just using the solder point (worried about frying the board).

Thanks for any input. If necessary I could go into further detail but it’s a royal pain in the ass getting a photo so that isn’t an option.

Connor

If you look at the button terminal board, you see that its held down by 2 screws, unscrew them. Then left the whole button distribution terminal out of place.
**Underneath **the board you should see solder points for each button Signal and ground in large easy to solder points.

Leave the ribbon cables alone, unless your top notch with soldering you will ruin a ribbon cable.