Teaching this game to Noobs

What’s a good way to teach this game to noobs?

Should I try to teach them special moves first, or maybe poking. This game didn’t take me that long to learn, but I already knew the special move motions from other fighting games. I just had to learn combos and poking. But where should I start for a complete noob.

Plz help

In this order…

Normals
Footsies
Timing
Spacing

NO ROLLING

then the advanced stuff

play super turbo first.

That’s good advice. But the thing is, CVS2 is more upclose and footsie oriented, and ST is more Fireball.

1st - Normals:
Ranges, timing, whiff countering.

2nd - Specials:
Speed of fireball, numbers of hits for stuff, etc.

3rd - Footsies:
Once you learn timing and range, you can learn mixup footsies pretty easily. This includes baiting, counter hit combos, etc.

4th - Basic Combos.

5th - Other stuff:
Throw setups, crossup setups, reverse anti air, etc.

And yeah, ST helps.

Woah I don’t even know some of that stuff lol.

Looks like I got a lot to learn.

1st I’d anti-air them every chance you get to teach them that jumping=bad. Just try to punish their mistakes, and then tell them why they lost.

uh, you have to learn footsies in ST to avoid getting killed by fireballs…

cvs2 footsies are pretty stupid because roll reduces the amont of safe pokes to max range c.fp and s.lk and that’s about it.

st footsies are more closely related to the fireball game because you can’t just roll through whiffed pokes or fireballs. if you whiff a poke you can very easily eat a fireball in the face.

For a “Complete Noob”

IMO,

Start with teaching them how to do specials. The games almost pointless if they can’t do the basic moves (fireballs, dp, hurricanes, etc). I know shotos are tired and old, but they are solid, and are great first characters. If they eventually learn to do the specials for Ryu, Guile, Chun & Geif, they will be able to play “Any character”.