Teleport not practical at high level play?

akuma

Notice in a lot of tournament matches that Akuma players(Nanachi, Momochi, Yuu etc.) seem to sparingly use his teleports. Is it just not practical due to being too predictable at a high level? I ask because I wanted to try a style with Akuma that heavily incorporates all variations of his teleport to confuse the opponent. Also, yes I’m new to Akuma. So, if I sound like a noob that’s why. Switched to him from Fei Long.

I don’t know of teleport being punishable unless they predict it, so I’d say they just use it sparingly to make it unpredictable when they need it, or are opting for trying to beat the mixup, which Gouki is entirely capable of doing.

Thanks.

A lot of players play specifically in a fashion where they can punish a Teleport if the Akuma goes for it. Almost everybody has an option where they can cross the full-screen and either punish Akuma or go back to pressuring him up close immediately. The drawback though is they have to respect yet another option of Akuma’s and as pherai says, he already had plenty of solid close / wake-up options.

Thanks. So, not too good to use it often then is it? Since people will get around it and pressure me.

The catch with the teleport is that while it is completely invulnerable on start-up, it invokes a whopping 57 frames of recovery for the punch version and 49 frames for the kick variation.

http://www.eventhubs.com/guides/2008/nov/13/akuma-gouki-frame-data-street-fighter-4/

For this reason you can’t just idly perform it and not expect to be severely punished. In fact, the teleport is actually a huge liability in some matchups if improperly used and bare in mind that it can easily be baited. A common tactic is to pressure Akuma in the corner with the fact that he’ll likely teleport out in mind and punish accordingly - Ryu can easily tag us with a super or hurricane kick as we recover from it for example.