Tell me why certain Street Fighter games are so polarizing

I’m a relatively new player to the Street Fighter scene, and really only started playing them with the release of Street Fighter 4. I joined Shoryuken not too long ago, maybe sometime in Summer 2009, and ever since then I’ve read a lot of threads on people’s opinions on games in the Street Fighter series. Reading them, it seems like there is a lot of hate from certain players in regards to some of the games.

Street Fighter 3: Third Strike

I have little to no experience with this game, I’ve played it for all of five minutes. It does seem to be a love/hate game on SRK though. Some people think its the greatest fighting game ever made, others think its complete trash. The only things I’ve heard so far is that it ditched a lot of people’s favorite characters from 2, and some people really hated the parry system.

Street Fighter 4

This is another one a lot of people don’t like. I guess the chief complaint is that its too easy compared to other Street Fighter games. With my experience I still have a lot of trouble doing stuff like DP->FADC-> Ultra so I don’t really see how its easy, however I’m really inexperienced so that’s probably why.

Without starting a bloodthirsty debate on whether these games are awesome/suck, can some people give me a few reasons why these two Street Fighter games tend to be either loved or hated by Street Fighter veterans?

People just have different tastes, there’s no conspiracy behind it. You’re also more likely to enjoy a game you grow up learning, rather than a new iteratation that comes out later.