The best way to get into train as a beginner

Hey guys, Im a complete newbie to fighting games and while after reading some stickies on how to start, a question has been stuck in my head.
I heard that the best way to learn is to do all the trials/lessons etc for a character and then just try to use those combos in a real match. Another source said that is bullshit and that fighting games is more just using certain moves on reaction. Thoughts?

Somewhat.

Make a list of tools. What’s the poke I use to control my space? What’s my anti-air? What are my reversals? Do I have any moves specifically for defeating projectiles?

So on and so forth.

Then, practice executing these tools on demand. (i.e. anti-airing when you see a jump; using a meaty attack on the opponent’s wakeup when expecting them to tech or mash jab; etc.)

The opponent’s actions prompt your own- like a QTE, but with no big flashing icons on the screen. There are a number of “correct” options you are supposed to be doing at any given time, so it’s important to know what they are and to be able to use them easily and quickly. It takes some time to get to that point.

A combo is an extension of a tool; “my cr. LK hits low- this cr. LK combo is how I extend its damage.” If you don’t know how to use that cr. LK in the first place your training will be meaningless, and just fishing for it with no real plan is a good way to lose.

Buy a train ticket and step on carefully.

Seriously, just look at youtube tutorials or terminology dictionaries on internet, keep learning and explore that lab!

Trials are not always the most practical combos. While they could give you a good glance at what your character is capable of doing, usually they are not “bread and butter” combos.